About CCLS

The Chester County Library System was organized in 1965 to serve Chester County’s 760 square miles, 15 boroughs, 57 townships, 1 city, 14 school districts and 498,886 residents according to the 2010 census.


It is a federated system made up of 16 member libraries with 18 library facilities. It is overseen by a seven member Board of Trustees appointed by the Chester County Commissioners.

The Chester County Library, a county-owned institution with one branch, serves as the system headquarters and is also designated as the District Center for a state-defined library district congruent with the county borders.

Member Libraries

Member Libraries maintain their own governance boards and receive support from varied sources, including the municipalities in their service area, corporations and the public. Additionally, many have volunteer opportunities, friends groups and foundations/trusts. Please contact your Library to learn how you can support them.

For More Information

The Executive Director is Joseph L. Sherwood. He may be reached by email.